Advent: where did Jesus come from?

WP_20151207_005

The genealogy of Jesus fascinates me. It’s amazing to be able to read all down the line to Abraham! And to see all the names that we recognise, all the people who God protected fiercely, faithfully, and lovingly to preserve the line of David all the way to our Saviour.

Advent prayerLast year as I created this multi media Advent page I got so caught up in this genealogy that I had to write it all out down and then around the page!

Going deeper: Read this verse in context. What stories from the Bible does it bring to mind? Has one been particularly meaningful to you this year? If so, you might like to go back and read about Rahab, Ruth, Jacob, or another of the links in this precious chain.

 

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advent: where did Jesus come from?

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Hello, Victoria! I’m a friend of Kel Rohlf’s–a fellow journaling aficionado! We were discussing you and your writing and journaling passion over tea today in St. Louis’s London Tearoom (how appropriate, huh?) I just wanted to stop by and check out your lovely site. And I had to smile at your journaling in your Bible margins. I’ve done that for years and years….long before there was also a movement to draw/paint pictures in them. But I love marginalia. It’s really a fascinating kind of journaling, and brings an immediacy to what you are reading and how you are interacting with His Spirit.
    Lovely to meet you. Merry Christmas and joyful journaling!
    Lynn

    • Hi Lynn, thank you so much for coming over and saying hello. Marginalia: that is a great word! It’s a good way to be reminded of your previous interactions – which we might forget if they were in a separate journal, that’s what I like best about my scribbled Bible. It’s lovely to meet you too, I’m so touched that you came over to say hello 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Yes, Victoria! You totally get it. I too think we would forget in a separate journal (or we would need some way to catalogue that and be able to find it). The only problem I am having now is terrible bleeding in my Bibles. The ink on each side of the pages is bleeding into each other, and I am losing the words. So not sure what to do about that. I’m pondering it. It’s not a great situation. Did you know that Johannes Sebastian Bach wrote marginalia in his Bible, and that we have that Bible in St. Louis, where Kel and I live?! In fact, it is housed in the library of the seminary where I am singing this Sunday. Our performance group is singing several of his cantatas in the big chapel there.

    I’m so pleased that Kel has introduced us. I love all things journal and all things English. Our last visit there was in summer, 2013. I would move to England if I could! Do you follow Shelly Miller’s blog? She was originally from St. Louis, has lived several places in the US, and now has moved permanently to London. She loves the Lord and is a lyrical author and photographer, whose first book comes out in about a year. I look forward to getting to know you and to read your work. I’ve not written books in a while, but have contributed to blogs here and there. Lovely to meet you, Victoria, and Merry Christmas!
    Lynn
    http://redemptionsbeauty.com/

    • Thanks Kel, I hadn’t come across Shelly’s blog, and now I’ve had a lovely read over there. I’ve been using micron pens, which do show through a little, but I have written on both sides of some pages and it works ok – it’s very readable.
      I did not know that about Bach – amazing, and how special to be able to view it in your town!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        It’s Lynn here. 🙂 So glad you got to read Shelly’s work. I think that you will enjoy following her and reading her book on Sabbath when it comes out. You can also sign up for her newsletter in addition to her blog. And her church is St. Barnabus, Kensington, if you are ever in London. Her husband, H, is ass’t vicar there. In what part of England do you live? Yes, it’s really neat that Bach wrote in his Bible. I haven’t seen it yet, and hope to make an appointment to do that soon in the New Year. You may see the Bible here. Granted, he didn’t paint pictures like you :-), and he didn’t scribble all over the margins like me, but he did make meaningful notations of what God was showing him. He was a profound Christian, and his music reflects it. Also, if you click media, you can hear us sing two excerpts from the Magnificat. On the video, I’m on the front row, 2nd from left, with curly hear and wearing pearls. In the still shot on the link I am sending you, Im 2nd from left, also wearing pearls, but with a different hair style and also my neckline is not rounded. There is a book on marginalia that I was going to mention, but when I went to Amazon, I couldn’t find it. I need to get ready for a long dress rehearsal this morning, so when I get home, I will dig it up and let you know its title. All the best as you journal, micro pen and Bible in hand. Thank you so much for that recommendation!
        Fondly,
        Lynn

Leave a comment

