When I look up at a Tree

I can breathe.

I can glimpse blue sky and fluffy white clouds.

I am mesmerised by the flickering sunlight dappling on leaves.

I am at peace.

I sense the presence of God.

I grasp my smallness in the universe.

He is Lord, and He is in control.

Everything is ok, because I am His.

I am encouraged to pause,

to lie down beneath the tree,

to talk to God in prayer,

and quickly turn to listening.

Listening to His soothing words,

feeling His soothing breath,

knowing that He has it all covered,

that all I need to do is be.

As I get up I am conscious not to leave God there under the tree,

but to embrace his spirit within me,

to remain conscious of His presence with me throughout the rest of my day.

To remember when I feel stressed or worried,

to just take a moment to breathe and return in my mind to the tree,

to feel his breath again,

and share with him my feelings and anxieties,

and be quickly reminded that

everything is ok.

And then to notice just how very ok everything is.

And breathe my thanks to God for all these blessings;

Every good gift comes from God.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Joining in with the 5-minute Warrior Writing Challenge today thanks to Kel’s tip off 🙂

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Contemplative life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When I look up at a Tree

  1. connectdd says:

    I love looking up at a tree, and through the leaves to the sky too! It is so calming and feels protective, and certainly reflects God’s varied creation.

  2. betsydecruz says:

    This is a beautiful post, Victoria. I just received heart-crushing news yesterday that my sweet 90 year old mother-in-law will go soon to be with Jesus. So I’m glad to remember that everything is okay because we’re in God’s hands.

  3. Constance says:

    “This is so beautiful Victoria. Thank you for reminding me in the extreme business of this week, to get outside and enjoy God’s beautiful creation, spending time with Him and listening carefully to all He has to share with me! 🙂

    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

    • I needed the reminder too, hearing from God is always strengthening and puts our lives in perspective. Praying that you enjoyed a lovely peaceful, slow sabbath after your busy week; and for a restful week ahead xx

  4. Kim says:

    This is beautiful! I too love to look up at trees, it brings so much calm and peace.

Leave a comment

