The plot to kill Jesus – such a sad day

Judas' regret - Jose Ferraz de Almeia Junior, 1880

Judas’ regret – Jose Ferraz de Almeia Junior, 1880

Now the Feast of Unleavened Bread drew near, which is called the Passover. And the chief priests and the scribes were seeking how to put him to death, for they feared the people.

Then Satan entered into Judas called Iscariot, who was of the number of the twelve. He went away and conferred with the chief priests and officers how he might betray him to them. And they were glad, and agreed to give him money. So he consented and sought an opportunity to betray him to them in the absence of a crowd.”

Luke 22:1-6

I find this such a sad passage. Such a sad moment when Judas became the tool of Satan. In past Lenten seasons I have been struck by what led up to this moment; how Judas wanted Jesus to take the world by storm; to release the Jewish people like a King, or a leader of an army. Struck by his disappointment, frustration and impatience. I feel sorrow for Judas, and wonder why he wasn’t able to take these questions to Jesus, or why he wasn’t able to comprehend Jesus’ response.

This year I have been struck too by how I also make foolish choices in a hasty moment. In moments when I over-react; in moments when I feel impatience with how other people are behaving, or their slow (to me) speed of change. This often leads to mistakes and regrets. Sometimes I start clearing away clutter and I throw things away that I might later regret having lost. Or I might take over in a certain area of work or life; stealing responsibility, or opportunity from another, and stealing from everyone the additional creativity that that person would have brought to the particular challenge or decision.

It is impossible to act wisely when we are feeling angry, hurt, let-down, or frustrated. I pray that I will remember this next time, and will take the time to pause, pray, and ponder before acting.

And I will continue to feel empathy and sympathy for Judas, what a sad day this was for one of the chosen disciples. The painting above really captures this emotion. The sense of something lost, an action with a consequence that can not be reversed.

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The plot to kill Jesus – such a sad day

  1. Thank you for this honest sharing. It’s true, that we all make decisions we sometimes regret, and most often at times when our emotions are strong. I find prayer to be so helpful in changing this. And forgiveness of myself. Not always the easiest thing!

    The power of Jesus Christ is in His resurrection. Without that, He would’ve just be another amazing man teaching amazing values. The resurrection is what allows for salvation, and Judas’ actions were the ultimate catalyst for the resurrection. So, while we acknowledge his suffering, I think we must also be thankful for his unknowing sacrifice.

    I love the book “Holy Week,” by Emil Bock. It’s a collection of readings and reflections and ideas to guides us through this powerful time. Perhaps you will appreciate it too.

    • Yes, I agree. Thinking about Judas is such a complex experience for exactly this reason – he did a terrible thing, and yet we can easily see why and sympathise, and yet without it how would the death and resurrection have come about?

      Thanks so much for the book recommendation, I love books! I’ll be looking this up now. I’m about to dip into Stephen Cottrell’s book The Things He Carried.

  2. kelrohlf says:

    Victoria- Such a vulnerable post…the regret and frustration of living in a fallen world. I can relate to making hasty responses and stealing responsibility from others…thanks for this heartfelt contemplation. I always feel sad for Judas, too.

Leave a comment

