Preparing for Lent: Audio

Photo Credit: dalechumbley via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: dalechumbley via Compfight cc

I finished! and am so happy to be starting this Lenten family read!

Inspired by the advent wreaths we lit in December I have been thinking about a special candle for Lent. I’ve chosen simple floating candles, inspired by the baptism of Jesus which immediately precedes the start of Lent and his journey into the wilderness; and by the many stories that take place by the Sea of Galilee. We have one floating candle each to light as we prepare to listen to the daily readings.

As we come nearer to holy week we’ll change to something sparser and perhaps a little thorny.

We began our Lenten journey with Jesus yesterday, by taking an imaginary walk with Jesus as he leaves Nazareth:

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Children's Spirituality, Contemplative life, Lent and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Preparing for Lent: Audio

  1. susieu says:

    that’s beautiful Victoria! It’s good to hear your voice again!!

  2. Lissy Clarke says:

    How special, thank you so much Victoria, I really enjoyed that.
    Have you read the Ann Rice books about Jesus’ life? This reminded me of them.
    Would love more audio content for lent, is that in the plan?
    Xx

  3. kelrohlf says:

    Victoria- I loved imagining Jesus along with your audio recording…I like how you invited us to imagine how Jesus looks at us…also love the Lent candle idea…I have a bowl like that with sand in it…One year I read a suggestion to write a sin confession in the sand and then erase it during Lent…I may add candles or something…I really like the water and floating candles too…and I am super excited about reading your Lent writings!

  4. Constance says:

    Victoria,
    Every time I stop by your blog I am glad I did. You never fail to have a special treat for me, whether to read or listen to. What a wonderful gift our God has blessed you with. You are able to bring the reader or listener into the presence of our Savior and bask there with Him – even if only for a little while. It’s so worth it!!
    Blessings to you my sweet friend,
    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Don’t Waste Your Kisses | Nourishment for the Soul

  6. Pingback: Mothers & Tax Collectors | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

