A Stormy Night: Mark 4: 35-41

Christ in the Storm on the Lake of Galilee, Rembrandt.

Christ in the Storm on the Lake of Galilee, Rembrandt.

It was stormy here on Friday night. As I put my children to bed we listened to the wind outside, and thought about another stormy night, on the Sea of Galilee. When I came downstairs the wind was still blowing, so I stepped outside to make this recording. It was all on the spur of the moment, so please excuse a few hesitations.

I hope you enjoy this time imagining yourself in this story. I wonder if anything new or surprising stands out to you hearing the story in this way?

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Contemplative life, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Stormy Night: Mark 4: 35-41

  1. Constance says:

    Victoria,

    You just described how my day began. Early, before the sun came up, my oldest son flew out for Georgia – to the other side of our country. I said “Good bye” knowing it will be almost a whole year before I see him again, and hurried back to bed. The tears began to flow. Like the disciples I grabbed for something and held on tight – my Bible. I was so glad for its soft leather and I cried myself back to sleep with a short prayer, “Lord, please replace my motherly anxiety with Your perfect peace.”

    When I awoke, there were signs that there had been a storm, my eyes swollen and red – but the storm in my heart had been stilled by the tender voice of my Savior. “Thank You Lord!” for calming the storm within and giving me faith in You.

    Blessings,

    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

    • oh Constance, hugs! Your words are beautiful and heart wrenching. It makes me sad just imagining those days of long goodbyes ahead. Thank you God for restoring Constance’s peace, and that you are always with her and all her children.
      Bless you xx

  2. Constance says:

    Thank you for your prayers Victoria – they have worked. I know all is in God’s trusting and faithful hands. It will all be just fine. 🙂

    Con-

Leave a comment

