Starting 2015: 5 things I’m loving so far

WP_20141229_005Hello! As I’ve read on many other blogs this week “I didn’t expect to be away for so long”! But once I finished work and unplugged from the computer, I really did not want to reconnect even to blog, so I chose to embrace that, and stayed silent!

Now it feels like time to say hello again, and more than that I feel that what I would really like to do is pour a few cups of coffee and actually converse with you all, rather than just share a list, an idea, or activity. Alas that is not possible, but just reflecting upon it has made me glad; it makes me feel that there is a little community growing here, which is just lovely.

So that is the direction of this post, a little catch up on the past couple of weeks. How was your Christmas? Here it was lovely to be away from school and work and just be together, to play, have fun, and each have time to pursue our interests alone and together. We also found a little snow, amongst the sheep of the Yorkshire Moors as you can see above!

And moving towards the new year – happy new year! 2015 feels full of promise. I’ve set my goals, and started some baby steps of progress. We’re settling back into work and school, and it all feels good.

A few highlights of this first full week of 2015 are:

1. Finishing knitting a hat (with pompom!) and gloves for birthday gifting next week – step one in my goal this year to make at least one part of every gifting this year.

2. Enjoying the first meditation from a beautiful book gifted to me – Meditations on Vatican Art a beautiful and inspiring book based around 28 of St Ignatius’ Spiritual Exercises. I started with the meditation on Jesus’ Baptism and it was wonderful. I am so looking forward to working through this book slowly this year and savouring every opportunity that arises to pray with it.

3. The book that I’m reading each bedtime is Jesus – A Pilgrimage, another Christmas present that again takes the reader more deeply into Jesus’ life.

4. Starting The Great Adventure 90 day Bible Reading Challenge. I hinted the other week about my struggles with Bible in a year plans, and so I love this idea of this 14 book adventure that covers the main stories of the Bible. Together with this tick chart it is an interesting start at a whole Bible read!

5. And tomorrow I start a Spiritual Formation Course that my diocese is running this year, I am super excited about that, and will most likely be sharing more on that as the year progresses.

So that’s my catch-up. It’s good to be back here! How about you? What were the highlights of the holiday, and what are you excited about this year?

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Contemplative life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting 2015: 5 things I’m loving so far

  1. Constance says:

    Good Afternoon Victoria 🙂
    I wanted to be sure to stop in to visit with you today, and I’m so glad I did! I really want to check out your “Meditations on Vatican Art” and “Jesus – A Pilgrimage”, what wonderful Christmas gifts from those who love you. As you know, I’m starting 2015 reading through the Bible in four months chronologically with a group called BRT2015. So far it has been truly marvelous – God’s Precious Word is healing and life-changing. I am also reading “Life On The Highest Plane” and sharing my thoughts every Thursday for each chapter. I’m so glad you decided to come back to blogging after your peaceful break from the computer! Your friendship is very much cherished by so many:) Blessings to you and your family in 2015 Victoria!

    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

    • Thank you so much for your warm welcome back and affirmation. It is very timely! It has been so wonderful to start the year with these books, and for you as well – it feels that they are helping us to set our course right from the start of the year!

  2. connectdd says:

    Happy New Year to you, it’s inspiring to hear about the steps of progress. This Christmas we had a small miracle with the help of a godly counselor. Our young adult kids really listened to each other, and made steps to include a new in-law. Just precious, and a powerful demonstration of the Emmanuel, God with us so we can love and forgive. This year I may travel to Israel, haven’t been there in years, and play/sing more.

    • So good to hear of your answered prayers, I pray that this renewed relationship will continue to grow and abound in love all year. How exciting to be going to Israel! You might enjoy James Martin’s book in preparation, reading about all the sites in his book has really whetted my appetite to visit!

Leave a comment

