Book Review: Discovering Delight: 31 Meditations on Loving God’s Law

51PpLctGFgL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

I’m just stepping away from my Advent Reflections for a moment today, to share a book review. I requested a free copy of this book from Cross Focussed Reviews in exchange for an independent review. It’s a really interesting book, and would make a great devotional for starting off 2015.

I was initially attracted to Discovering Delight by the subtitle ‘loving God’s law’. Being familiar with the line in Psalm 1 about the wise man who ‘meditates on His law day and night’ and for whom the law ‘is his delight. I had often wondered how that would look and so was interested in using this book as a guide to start doing just that.

Travelling through the book was a fascinating journey, it offers many insights and explanations of the scriptures and I really enjoyed following through the other scripture references given. Glenda makes great connections between the Psalms and other parts of scripture, which are interesting and very valuable to a deeper understanding. Seeing the connections between different books of the scriptures, I think is so fascinating and mysterious.

I was surprised at first by the amount of commentary, as the word meditations had led me to expect a more reflective, and self-led journey each day. In fact this book is laid out more like a typical quiet time companion, with a few pages of commentary, followed by a prayer, and some reflection questions. Although this was not the layout I expected enjoyed digger deeper into the theology and this has really aided my understanding and appreciation not only of Psalm 119, but also the wider scriptures, and certainly what it means to ‘love God’s law’.

This is definitely a book that I will return to throughout next year. It’s much more than just a 31-day devotional, there is plenty here to keep chewing over for many more days!

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Contemplative life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Discovering Delight: 31 Meditations on Loving God’s Law

  1. I agree, seeing how different parts of scripture connect and weave together is very interesting. I enjoy books that do this well, so thanks for the detailed recommendation!

  2. Pingback: Discovering Delight: 31 Meditations on Loving God’s Law Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a comment

