Making Advent Special: A Christmas Menu

Photo Credit: abakedcreation via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: abakedcreation via Compfight cc

We’re nearly half-way through our work to be ready for Christmas by 30 November. I must admit that I am feeling a little weary of getting ready, and even of all these Advent preparation posts. I was wondering if everyone’s bored of them already, and was wishing we were already at 30 November and everything was done!

So I decided today to think about the food we might like to enjoy over Christmas, hoping that dipping into this would cheer me up and it did! Now I’m anticipating the making and eating of some festive treats, and am motivated again to press on and get ready for 1 December knowing that having the time to bake will be one of the rewards!

Now that you know where you will be at Christmas you can think about what food you will need. If you like menu planning you can get ahead by preparing a full menu plan for one or two weeks over Christmas. If that’s not your usual approach to cooking at home, then just take the time to look up any special recipes that you enjoy making and eating over Christmas. Make a list of the ingredients so that you’re ready for a Christmas food shop in December, and make sure that you have the recipes printed out or bookmarked so that you are all ready to go on baking day.

If you’ll be cooking Christmas dinner this year, do you have a well worn menu, or do you need to set aside a little time to browse for ideas and make a plan?

I’ve collected together a few of our Christmas favourites on pinterest, and these are my favourite Christmas Cookies:

Cranberry & White Chocolate Cookies

Melt together over a low heat:
110g butter
75g Demerara sugar
1 tbsp golden syrup

Meanwhile gather in a separate bowl:
110g self raising flour
110g oats
50g white chocolate chopped
50g dried cranberries

When the butter mixture is melted, pour on top of the dry ingredients and mix (the chocolate will start to melt). Mould into small balls using a tablespoon of mixture at a time, place on a baking tray, flatten slightly, and bake at 180C / 350F for 13 minutes.

We have just a few recipes that we make every Christmas and I’m on the look out for more so please do share a link in the comments for the recipe that is a seasonal must-make in your home.

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Advent and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making Advent Special: A Christmas Menu

  1. Constance says:

    Victoria,

    This cranberry and white chocolate cookie recipe sounds wonderful! I will have to add it to my “new things to try” list for the holidays this year. Thank you for sharing such wonderful posts. Your ideas get my holiday juices rolling and I love it!

    Con-
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

  2. Mmmm – I like the sound of those cookies! Last year, I made these cheese bites that were brilliant. You could make and freeze them, then just cook as many as you needed.

  3. kelrohlf says:

    Yum! My husband and I will be just us thus Christmas on our boat…so Ian looking for simple meals with a seafood theme…I will have a small toaster oven so I may just but premade cookies or try some easy toffee that cooks on stovetop…I like dark choc salted toffee …also will see what local delicacies they serve in Florida…maybe some key lime pie

  4. kelrohlf says:

    Sorry for a All the typos in above post…using my phone and it spells horribly…lol

  5. I never made cookies with cranberries in them but I bet that would be good Christmas treat.

  6. Pingback: Making Advent Special: Catch up Day | expectantly listening

  7. Pingback: Making Advent Special: Final preparations | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

