Making Advent Special: Check your supplies

WP_20141023_002Today is stocktake day!  If you have any cards and wrapping supplies, and even presents,  left over from last year then today is the day to pull everything out of the drawer or cupboard where they are stored.  Check what you’ve got, and work out what you still need for cards and wrappings. Make a rough count of how many cards you will be sending.

If you do find any long-forgotten presents, make a note of those to help you when we make present plans next week.

If you’re like my sister and make your own cards I found lots of inspiration that you might enjoy on this pinterest board. Choose your design and make a list of the supplies you will need.

I buy my cards and was very happy this morning to find that my love of nativity inspired images has led me to have a plentiful supply already stashed away for this year.  It’s good to have discovered this before I see too many more cards in the shops this year! If you need to shop for cards, add them to your supermarket list, or pick a day during the next week that you can go shopping, or order online.

If you prefer to send an online card, can you make your design this week and arrange the delivery date in advance?

I’ve found inspiration for present wrapping this year from the haystack needle – keeping it simple, a little homemade, and beautiful too. I already have some alphabet stamps and I’ve just placed my order online for brown paper, red tags, and some red and white twine.

Finally, remember your postage stamps. In the UK Christmas designs will be available from 4th November.

I think this is a good one to get ticked off. It feels quite substantial and yet is not too arduous. How about you? Is this a fun part of Christmas preparations for you?

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Advent, Christmas, Planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Advent Special: Check your supplies

  1. Constance says:

    Hello Victoria Grace,

    I just wanted to let you know that you have encouraged me twice this afternoon – first by taking time to leave a note of encouragement on my blog and then by giving me something great to read on your’s! Thank you so much. I love preparing for Advent – the thought of Jesus’ return during this time of year grows stronger and stronger with each day!

    With Jesus’ Sweet Love,

    Con-
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Making Advent Special: Catch up Day | expectantly listening

  3. Pingback: Making Advent Special: Write your Cards | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

