Preparing for Advent: Start with Prayer

nativity-of-christ-1523.jpg!Large

Nativity of Christ, Lorenzo Lotto

Thank you to all of you who have welcomed joining this Advent preparation journey.  I pray that the journey itself will be a blessing to you and that later on it will help you to find a great sense of Advent Joy.

Welcome to our first step of preparation: prayer.  Let’s start our preparations by taking time to pray about our end goal, which is to free up time in December for a more scared, holy Advent.  Prayer is so personal that I hesitate to say more than that.

In case you would like some prayer pointers I will share a little about my prayer time. I spoke of my desire for a holy Advent, with moments of sacred space to prepare my heart and meet with the Lord. I prayed with the nativity story from Matthew’s gospel, and finally asked God to share with me any words or phrases that I should keep in mind as I plan for Advent and select Advent activities for my family and myself.

For part of my prayer time I made a collage, inspired by Kel Rohlf. Advent prayer I’m going to keep it above my desk during this time of preparation.  It reminds me of some of my favourite parts of the nativity; and I have captured some words and phrases that I want to keep in mind to keep our Advent time special and holy.

I hope that you will find a parcel of time this week to share with the Lord your hopes and dreams for Advent, commit this time of preparation to Him, and seek His wisdom. Thank you so much for being part of this journey.

Something I’m continuing to turn over in my mind after my prayer time is the idea of creating a greater sense of waiting through Advent this year, inspired by this post at Carrots for Michaelmass.

I’ll be back later in the week sharing links and resources to help plan activities and choose devotionals for Advent. In the meantime, it would be lovely to hear about any of your dreams for this Advent in the comments below.

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Advent, Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Preparing for Advent: Start with Prayer

  1. kelrohlf says:

    Yay! I am so looking forward to joining you as you pray and prepare for advent…now you’ve inspired me to make a prayer visual to prepare for Advent. 🙂

  2. kelrohlf says:

    I love the person parachuting down…would you be willing to share the significance?

    • Hi Kel, I really look forward to seeing your prayer (if it’s one you share). As I was praying the parachute came to mind, that I originally drew on my 10 year olds’ birthday card last month, and it just resonated with the idea that God came down, so I thought I’d add one here too!

  3. Pingback: GOD+ART (DAY 14) | Nourishment for the Soul

  4. Hi Victoria, I found your blog via Betsy about me post. Always great to find other lovers of Jesus. I like your idea of prayer collage.

  5. Hi Wanda, I just discovered prayer collage myself over with Kel. Contemplative prayer is so rich but I sometimes struggle to be still and concentrate 😉 and while doing this collage it was lovely to be able to continue my prayer time and also record what was happening. I’m a total beginner but definitely enjoying it!
    Thanks so much for visiting, it was lovely to find your blog too.

  6. Pingback: Preparing for Advent: planning a holy Advent | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

