Meditation on wholeheartedness

IMG_0120.PNGWholehearted: this is the word I most want to be.  I’m not sure I chose it as my “word” for 2014, but it is the word that has evolved as my focus.

I highlighted this quote in Micha Boyett’s book Found:

Wholeheartedness is allowing every part of us to be loved by God.

And I think by extension this means allowing ourselves to accept every part of who we are. To accept that every part of us is loveable by God; even those parts that might not be loveable to anyone else.

At first I wasn’t sure that God does love every part of us. I wondered, does he really love the darkest places?  I don’t know the answer to that, but I do know that he certainly sees those places and he certainly loves us completely.  As St Augustine said:

God loves each one of us as if there were only one of us to love.

Psalm 139 asks:

Where can I go to escape your spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, You are there.
If I live at the eastern horizon,
or settle at the western limits,
even there your hand will lead me.
Your right hand will hold on to me.

Whether I am perfect or at my worst, You are there.
My sin might hide you from me, but it never hides me from you.

That is so wondrous.  You know me, and you love me; just as I am today.
And you will love me tomorrow, just the same.

 

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Contemplative life, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Meditation on wholeheartedness

  1. Tammy Smith says:

    I love this meditation and ironically it was a word the Lord was starting to bring to mind for me for 2015. I was very hurried and harried in 2014, and God answered a lot of prayers including getting married, starting a new job etc. But now that I’ve received these blessings I want to engage with my full heart in the year, the people, the events ahead. I will need to check out that book you are referring to;-)

    • Hi Tammy, thank you so much for dropping by, and leaving a comment. It is wonderful to hear of the blessings you experienced last year, and I pray that you will have a wonderful 2015 in which you find more wholeheartedness each day. Found is a great book, one of my top reads of last year!

  2. Constance says:

    I’ve never thought of having a “word” for my year. I like wholeheartedness and it goes along with what I’ve been praying consistently since the beginning of 2015. I truly want to be so purposeful in what I do this year. To sweep out the many sand-type things that constantly threaten to clutter my life and focus on those few large stones that are precious and meaningful – the work God has prepared for me to do before the foundation of the world. Wholeheartedness in 2015!

    Constance

  3. Hi Constance, yes that sand it threatens to overwhelm doesn’t it? Here’s to us both keeping space for the stones this year!

  4. Pingback: Exploring Spirituality | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

