Every moment is a sacred moment

Christ-comes-to-us-in-every-moment

Jean Pierre de Caussade, an 18th Century French Jesuit wrote that Christ comes to us in a fresh way every moment, every day.  We don’t have to separate the secular from the sacred.  Christ is alive right now, in all of it.

Micha Boyett, Found

Those sentences are so rich.  I long to be able to pause and savour every moment; to be able to sense just what Jean Pierre describes.

I  think back through today and wonder how it might have progressed differently if I had paused to recognise the presence of Jesus in every moment.

I wonder: Could I do this for just one day?  Could I do this tomorrow?

I am awestruck when I imagine the difference it would make to those around me: my family, my coworkers, the strangers I meet, everyone.

Tomorrow is a new day.  And, when tomorrow comes, each hour, each moment will be a new moment. A moment with a fresh opportunity to be still and know that Jesus is in our midst.

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Contemplative life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

