Memory verses made simple

Your-word-I-have-hiddenAs I started learning the first memory verse from the new Love God Greatly Bible study this week I thought I’d share my best tip for learning scripture.

But first, a word about this 8-week Study of the Book of Esther. Love God Greatly put on wonderful Bible studies for women, this will be my third. I love the simplicity and poignancy of their structure of daily scripture readings, with a particular verse or two to really focus on, and a weekly memory verse. Then it’s just up to you and God, no added frills, just time to sit and let God reveal and really open up his Word to you.

The Love God Greatly team also share some encouragements during each week via their blog.  It’s just day two but already I’m hooked, I know it’s going to be awesome!  Why not join up too?

And now, for the memorisation tip. It’s really simple. And based on science! Apparently, when we read a verse over and over, we are using the “reading” part of our brain….but….if we replace the words with just the first letter of each verse and “read” that, then we are using the “remembering” part of our brain, and so it is more effective. Cool huh? I have been using this trick for a few years and it really works!

As an example the first memory verse with the Esther Study is Matthew 6:20

“but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven,
where neither moth nor rust destroys
and where thieves do not break in and steal”

With the memory trick, this becomes:

b l u f y t i h,
w n m n r d
a w t d n b i a s

Try it – it really works!  It also saves that “looking at it but not really looking at it and reciting it at the same time” thing that I used to do.  Now the whole idea IS to look at it! Until I don’t need it any more, which comes more quickly with this method that I’ve ever known before, often after only one day of carrying those secret letters around in my pocket or having them taped to the window above my sink.

If you want to know more, I first found this tip over with Ann Voskamp at A Holy Experience, where she shares seven habits of highly effective Bible memorisation.  I wonder which is your favourite, or if you have an 8th tip to share?

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Scripture Memorisation. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memory verses made simple

  1. Wow TWAM…That Was Awesome Memorization! Thanks I am posting this on The Youth Culture Report. http://theyouthculturereport.com/

  2. Wow, thank you so much. I really appreciate you commenting and sharing onwards!

  3. Constance says:

    Victoria,

    I’m so glad I stopped by to look around on your blog. You always have some great words to read or in this case a great idea on Scripture memorization. Just the right thing at just the right time 🙂
    Blessings my friend! 🙂

    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.wordpress.com

  4. Pingback: The Voice Inside My Head Says…. | expectantly listening

Leave a comment

