Let go and let God

WavesAs I read through the lectionary readings this morning I was struck by this verse from 1 Corinthians:

For Christ did not send me to baptise but to preach the gospel

1 Corinthians 1:17

It made me stop and think about the difference between having goals that we are fully in control of delivering, and goals that require someone else to act too.  

Paul was 100% responsible for Paul preaching the gospel.  For Paul to baptise someone required a third party to do something too.  

If Paul had been sent to baptise, might he have pushed harder after the act of baptism, rather than simply preaching the gospel from his heart, and trusting God to give people ears to hear, and a heart to respond.

Might he have been tempted to “target” those who were easiest to introduce to Jesus in preference to the people most in need?  

Could it have led him to treat people as “projects” rather than individuals who Jesus loved, and wanted him to love too? 

I’m sure Paul would not have made these mistakes, but it has made me think more deeply about precisely how I define, and measure my goals and progress.  

 

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Love, Sharing the Gospel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

