Love

live-a-life-of-love

LOVE

I always come back to this one word, this one defining way to live.  It is a constant in the direction I receive from the Lord.  If I’m honest at first I found this a bit disappointing.  I remember after I waved my husband of just a few days off from our honeymoon cottage in the woods, to go back to work at the end of our holiday, and I stepped back inside to say one last goodbye, I sat at the table, gave thanks for our special days there and asked God what he wanted of me.  “Love Nick”.  Fair enough, but I remember asking again a few months or a year later and receiving the same answer.  Yet another time I sat outside our holiday tent containing our 2 small boys, and taking time to again seek the Lord’s will for me. “Love them”.  And I felt a little disappointed. Honestly, I did. I felt surely God had a bigger calling, a higher, grander calling for me.  And it took me a few more years of asking and wondering to realise that perhaps this is the highest, grandest, biggest calling.  A little slow to catch on!

It sounds so simple, and yet it can be so hard.  It sounds so footloose and fun, and yet it can be desperately painful.  It is a verb, and yet it can be a heavenly feeling in those moments when we get it right!

Recently I re-read an amazing book by Naomi Aldort and copied the quotes below that are great reminders and encouragements to me.  The book is fantastic, about three-quarters of my whole book is underlined and dog-eared!

You can’t get any closer to God than through loving…..

…..Is anything more important that loving another human being so that they know it without a doubt?

Now I’ve stopped seeking after a grander, higher, calling…after all I haven’t mastered this one yet ;-)!

Naomi Aldort, “Raising Our Children, Raising Ourselves

About expectantlylistening

Writing about my contemplative journey to come closer to Jesus. I hope to inspire and equip others on their journey.
This entry was posted in Love, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love

  1. Pingback: My Best Work: the movie synopsis | expectantly listening

  2. Constance says:

    Victoria, I love how you wrote this post and what you so honestly shared. It took me a while too. I wonder why that is? Do you think our world has been so twisted in what is really good and evil that we can no longer see the hugeness of a mother’s and father’s love? This is really sad to think of and yet, when we seek God, He so faithfully brings us back time and time again to what HE SAYS (not the world) Are REAL treasures that we are to store up in Heaven. Thank you for sharing your heart!

    Constance
    SimplyLiving101.com

    • I’m so glad that you came by and commented. It is such a good message for me too to read again, perhaps I should print it out as a daily reminder for myself. Not so much to be reminded that this is the greatest calling, but to be reminded to give it my all each day. To answer your question, yes I do think it is a damaged world that does not recognise this, and tempts us to what seems on the surface a grander and loftier ideal – one that is more highly celebrated in our world (but not in the world to come).

Leave a comment

